Studio Six

14 May

This is some of the work you can expect to see at my up coming exhibition. Launch 2nd June. Usurp Art Gallery. Look out for a feature in the HarrowObserver!!

“Eye just See, Just taste Tongue. Ear just hear, Just Breathe lung”

It is so easy to get caught up in life, in our own lives. Complaining that a train is late, that it’s raining again or the queue’s to long to buy a morning coffee and pastry. It could be something much bigger, missing loved ones, loosing family or loosing self. We’ve suffered all these things and more. But I know I have clean air to breathe, I have freedom, my own time, food to eat and clean water to drink. Suddenly material objects get filled under ‘Insignificance’. I start tob categorise… Want and Need. I go on to comprehend the fact that we have everything we require, survival instincts are quenched, even drowned. This exhibition is aiming to distinguish between want and need, to draw a comparison between things like Apples and Blackberries.  It has also encouraged me to plan workshops for young people to get them to consider how people their age live across the world. And to put all those things we take for granted in the spot light.

Allow your eyes to just see, your tongue will taste don’t worry. Your ears will do their part and hear, your lungs will breathe fresh air. Your heart will beat without a thought, what more can you want.

One Response to “Studio Six”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Practice of Freedom « Aoife Twomey’s Blog - November 15, 2010

    […] sense of all the weird things i think i’m alone in thinking (prime example being my much loved Just Hear Body, Just Now Mind poem). i don’t know if anyone else has ever felt this way but i always have to justify the […]

Leave a comment